Reviews

Nov 18
2017

The Center Of The World

- Back

The Center of the World by Jacqueline Sheehan Reviewed by Mark D. Walker Having just completed my own memoir, much of which takes place in Guatemala and having all three of our children born there, Jacqueline Sheehan’s novel was a must read. I also wrote about the devastating impact of the violence in the 1990s and its root causes of this sad period in Guatemalan history, which this author introduces in beautiful prose. The story explores the mother-daughter bond which crosses cultures against the backdrop of one of the most violent times of Guatemala’s history, Young Guatemalan adoptee Sofia is grieving the loss of her stepfather, Martin, who provides information after his death that turns everything she thought about her adoption upside down. She confronts her mother, Kate, who is forced to tell the truth, which takes her back to the 1990s (the transition is seamless). Kate explains that she was a graduate student in Guatemala when Sofia’s parents were killed and that she had tried to protect her from the violence. But Sofia is determined to discover the truth from the past, which takes her, along with her mother and grandfather, on a journey back to Guatemala. The author’s background as a psychologist is evident in appreciating the family dynamics. Sophia’s confusion and pain are evident just as Kate’s regret and desire to make things right is heartrending. All of this is complicated by Kate’s encounter with her first love in Guatemala, “Will”, who specializes in native languages. Revenge from a fellow American back in the 1990s complicates Kate’s ability to get Sophia safely out of the country. After Kate’s narrow escape from Guatemala, Will pursued his career in Guatemala over the years working with the local Maya communities. When Sophia arrives in Guatemala, she tracks him down during her search for her true identify and looks to him for an explanation of the circumstances that pulled her away from her own Mayan family. While in her former Maya community, Sophia experiences serious culture shock, as everything is so different from her home in the U.S., but her championship level of soccer allows her to connect with all the young people in the community. The story ends with Kate and her true love, Will, leaving a church holding hands after Sophia has popped her head to inquire, “Mom, are you okay?” The author is a Ph.D, a novelist and essayist. She teaches writing in Guatemala. Her new book, “The Tiger in the House” came out in March of this year. In regards to the reviewer who disputed the fact that the community of Santiago Atitlan, where the initial violence took place, spoke Tz’utujil, not Kaqchikel as stated in the book, I missed this fact, although I worked in Guatemala on and off for over eight years and have visited it all my life with my Guatemalan wife. However, Guatemala has 23 native languages and they do speak Tz’utujil in Santiago, but on the other side of the Lake in Panjalachel, they speak Kaqchikel. It’s complicated. So I’ll give the author a pass and, by the way, the book is fiction, and a real page-turner. • Paperback: 336 pages • Publisher: Kensington; 1st edition (December 29, 2015) • Language: English • ISBN-10: 1617738964 • ISBN-13: 978-1617738968 • Product Dimensions: 5.5 x 0.9 x 8.3 inches • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 72 customer reviews

Leave a Comments

Judix

8/6/2018 10:23:36 PM

edgfML http://www.LnAJ7K8QSpfMO2wQ8gO.com

Stacey

6/30/2018 12:55:29 AM

I love the theatre https://www.drugonsale.com online pharmacy The U.S. researchers also said they found the same methamphetamine-like chemical in another supplement, Detonate, which is sold as an all-natural weight loss pill by another company: Gaspari Nutrition.

Edgardo

6/29/2018 10:12:21 PM

Get a job https://www.drugonsale.com online pharmacy "The issue is fairness," bill sponsor Rep. Jim Moran, D-Va., said during the morning debate. "It's just wrong for hundreds of thousands of federal employees not to know whether they're going to be able to make their mortgage payment. Many of them live from paycheck to paycheck."

Crazyfrog

6/29/2018 9:06:59 PM

i'm fine good work https://www.drugonsale.com purchase medication online It took a deep run from substitute Edgar Castillo to break the game open again in the 85th minute. He got caught in a jumble of legs outside of Bosnia’s box and won a free kick. Altidore then deftly curled his effort over the wall and under the bar in the near corner to make it 3-2.

Stacey

6/29/2018 8:53:11 PM

I don't like pubs https://www.drugonsale.com cheap order drugs The honeymoon isn't over for Kate Moss and Jamie Hince! The newlyweds were spotted out until 5 a.m. at Cafe de Paris in London on June 20, 2013. Known-party girl Kate Moss looked disheveled at best on her way out of The Hoping Foundation Summer Party.

Frederic

6/29/2018 7:16:04 PM

Photography https://www.drugonsale.com online pharmacy For the green cover of our planet, even greater changes are in store. "The area at risk of ecosystem transformation is expected to double between global warming of about 3 and 4 degrees," says Lila Warszawski, lead author of another study that systematically compared different impact models â?? and the associated uncertainties â?? in order to gain a fuller picture of the possible consequences of climate change for natural ecosystems. This is part of the international Inter-Sectoral Impact Model Intercomparison Project (ISI-MIP).

Marlon

6/29/2018 6:22:47 PM

Can I call you back? https://www.drugonsale.com viagra "Instead, the priority should be to deal with such offences in the community, giving precedence to compensation or reparation for the victim and, where the offence is sufficiently serious, imposing a community sentence."

Marcelo

6/29/2018 4:27:34 PM

Incorrect PIN https://www.drugonsale.com online pharmacy He now looks determined to press home the advantage by presenting himself whenever and wherever he can as the man leading global peace efforts in Syria, undermining Obama even in the pages of a leading U.S. newspaper.

Kurtis

6/29/2018 2:57:50 PM

How do I get an outside line? https://www.drugonsale.com viagra No, they wonâ??t. The Jays have been beset by injuries, and so have the Yankees. The Jays have used 52 players, and the Yankees have used 56. The Jays injuries have hit their pitching staff more, and thatâ??s harder to replace. But neither team has had an easy ride.

Darwin

6/29/2018 10:35:36 AM

I've just graduated https://www.drugonsale.com viagra Our Classified websites (Photos, Motors, Jobs and Property Today) use cookies to ensure you get the correct local newspaper branding and content when you visit them. These cookies store no personally identifiable information.

Chance

6/9/2018 3:51:05 PM

One moment, please https://www.drugonsale.com cheap order drugs â??We looked internally and really were faced with the fact that we have a number of young pitchers that we feel would do a nice job for us, but they are running up against inning limits,â? general manager Sandy Alderson said.

Rueben

6/9/2018 1:09:50 PM

Hold the line, please https://www.drugonsale.com viagra Letta dismissed the motivation as a "huge lie," saying thatBerlusconi, who celebrated his 77th birthday on Sunday, wasacting out of fury at his expected expulsion from parliamentfollowing the tax fraud conviction.

Raphael

6/9/2018 12:52:06 PM

When can you start? https://www.drugonsale.com cialis A policeman got shot in the stomach. He asked me to take a picture of him screaming and asked me for help. I tried to help him but I guess he was in shock or something because when I helped him up he started firing his rifle into the floor. He almost shot me accidentally. Then he dropped the weapon.

Katherine

6/9/2018 12:33:29 PM

I support Manchester United https://www.drugonsale.com cheap order drugs Bitcoin, until recently a niche alternative currency touted by computer geeks and anti-government advocates, has garnered attention from a growing list of notable investors such as Andreessen Horowitz, which has invested in Facebook Inc, Twitter and Groupon Inc, and Founders Fund, which includes three founders of PayPal. Some devotees promote Bitcoin, which exists solely in cyber form, as the future of money, and in some investing circles it has created a buzz reminiscent of the early Internet age.

Brooklyn

6/9/2018 10:41:21 AM

I'm not sure https://www.drugonsale.com viagra Early Democratic leader and Bloomberg heir-apparent Christine Quinn, New York city council speaker, fell swiftly in the polls as disgraced former congressman Anthony Weiner surged. But Weiner soon slipped, after being outed for continuing to send elicit electronic messages to women – not his wife – following his congressional resignation for the same behavior. His fall from grace included a news conference where his wife, Huma Abedin, read a note of support on his behalf.

Hershel

6/9/2018 9:08:39 AM

I've only just arrived https://www.drugonsale.com cheap order drugs The espionage and mystique have raised questions among some watchers over whether the Mossad, the Israeli spy agency, was connected to a massive North Korean train explosion in 2004 â?? which flattened part of the surrounding city and, the Sankei Shinbum has claimed, killed several Syrian technicians.

Maria

6/9/2018 8:50:00 AM

I saw your advert in the paper https://www.drugonsale.com online pharmacy The Times said Obama disputed an argument that the pipelinewould bring down gasoline prices. He said it might actuallyincrease prices somewhat in the U.S. Midwest, which would beable to ship more of its oil elsewhere in the world, the paperreported.

Amber

6/9/2018 3:56:35 AM

How do you know each other? https://www.drugonsale.com cialis Investors sought refuge in the black-market dollar asArgentineans geared up for a key mid-term election on Oct. 27that will determine whether President Cristina Fernandez'scoalition keeps control of Congress during her final two yearsin power, according to traders.

Desmond

6/9/2018 2:18:24 AM

Have you got any experience? https://www.drugonsale.com cialis Benson said there is no evidence that anything man-made triggered the rockslide. He added it's hard to predict when, where, or how big the next rockslide would be, and the city should consider similar bluff areas to be a risk.

Stacy

6/8/2018 8:13:45 AM

this post is fantastic https://www.drugonsale.com cialis But people with disabilities still suffer from discrimination, in part because of the social stigma engendered by a government that once barred people with physical or mental disabilities from marrying or giving birth in some provinces.

Abigail

5/26/2018 5:50:56 AM

It's serious https://www.drugonsale.com cheap order drugs Ms Huffington, the former wife of US Republican politician Michael Huffington, urges her staff not to respond to work emails after normal working hours and recommends removing mobile telephones and computers from bedrooms. She said meditation rooms had also been introduced in the offices of online newspaper, the Huffington Post.

Judi

5/12/2018 4:38:25 AM

EarScS https://www.genericpharmacydrug.com

mike11

4/17/2018 4:34:16 PM

HD3gZ4 https://www.genericpharmacydrug.com

mike11

4/16/2018 9:18:54 AM

LARSCG https://www.genericpharmacydrug.com

holabromx

3/22/2018 2:26:54 AM

http://google0125.com/

HolaBromz

3/20/2018 5:11:56 PM

http://google0123.com/

Barneyxcq

2/18/2018 1:52:34 AM

oal5d0 http://www.LnAJ7K8QSpfMO2wQ8gO.com

Leave a Reply